SAFER: Advancing the Safe and Sustainable
Development of Pennsylvania's Shale Energy Resources

Home    Members

Our Members

The Board of Directors will be comprised of a balanced group of participating organizations. The Board will develop an annual research plan and select projects to address some of shales toughest challenges.
Current Board of Directors
Gas Technology Institute
Patrick Findle, President and Chairman of SAFER PA
Director, Pittsburgh Office
Pennsylvania State University
Monte Alger
Director of the Institute for Natural Gas Research (INGaR), Professor of Chemical Engineering
University of Pittsburgh
Radisav Vidic
Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Drexel University
Giuseppe Palmese
Professor and Head of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Groundwater Environmental Services
Richard T. Wardrop, P.G.
Principal Hydrogeologist
Tetra Tech
Steve Hughes
Water Management Group Manager – Appalachian Basin Oil & Gas
Charles Whisman
VP, Global Energy Market Director, E&N
Steptoe & Johnson PLLC
Gary Slagel
Government Affairs Specialist